the hardest part

As a teenager, I struggle daily with “little things.” Things like friendship struggles, boys who won’t matter in a few months, etc…drama I so easily get sucked into. I am someone who loves to pretend. I love to act like nothing bothers me and that I’m above feeling down about something that is so meaningless. Here’s the kicker though: everyone else is doing the same thing.

The reason the “little things” suck us in is because they serve as an easy distraction from our higher purpose. We constantly are searching for a way out, a way to shirk our responsibilities. We know our days on earth are numbered, so why not do what we want while we can? Why don’t we be reckless and not care? Life’s too short.

That’s the hardest part. We want to experience everything life has to offer us, but we get dragged under by all the stuff everyone and everything else seems to be shouting at us to do. Life surrounds you with its chaos and clouds our judgments. We become indifferent to the voice of God telling us to slow down and take a walk with Him. We shrug Him off. What we humans fail to realize is that this ignorance of Christ actually hurts Him. He loves us and sent His Son to die on the cross to save us. He wants all of us to walk with Him in this life so we can spend eternity by His side.

I fall under temptation constantly. I’m a sinner, through and through. I have realized the only way for me to achieve true happiness through this mess is to trust in the Lord and His plan for me. I ask that he gives me patience and ask for His forgiveness when I turn down the wrong path. I am learning and working on taking a step back and not becoming what this world wants me to be.

“Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” –Romans 12:2

One thought on “the hardest part

Leave a Reply

